School: Clark County, Wis. Teachers (1900) 

Contact: Duane Horn


Surnames: Veeder, Patch, Miller, Green, Palms, Dodge, Dutcher, Andrews, Joseph, Edwards, Helwig, Chamberlin, Anderson, Oliver, Deutsch  

----Source: Greenwood Gleaner (Greenwood, Clark County, Wis.) 24 Aug. 1900 



Which begins at Greenwood, Monday, September 3


One week from Monday school will begin in Greenwood and surrounding districts for the coming year.


Numerous changes and improvements have been and are being made at the school house so that better accommodations will be had this year than ever before. A partition has been put in the physics room up stairs so as to give an extra recitation room. The grammar grade will have the north room up stairs this year and the room heretofore used by that grade will be used by the second primary which the school board found it best to add to the course, thus dividing the work in this department and giving better results all around.


Another improvement made is by haing moulding placed around every room so that in hanging  pictures hereafter it will not be necessary to drive nails into the walls and so disfigure the plaster. The blinds, some of which have been broken and out of order, have been put in working order. Other minor improvements have also been made both inside and on the school grounds.


The teaching force for the coming year will be made up as follows;


Harold Veeder, Mauston, principal.


Matie A. Patch, Stevens Point, assistant principal.


Eva Miller, Greenwood, grammar.


Inez Palms, Greenwood, intermediate.


Deiia A. Green, Neillsville, second primary.


Mrs. B. O. Dodge, Mauston, first primary.


These are all experienced and capable teachers and the patrons of the Greenwood schools are to be congratulated on securing so well recommended teachers as they have for this year.


The surrounding schools, so far as we have been able to learn, will be made up as follows:


Larson district--Viola Dutcher, Greenwood.


Beaver (La Tart district)--Effie Andrews, Greenwood.


Hemlock--L. Joseph, Neillsville.


Schwarze district--Abbie Edwards, La Crosse.


Decker district--Alice Miller, Greenwood.


Gemmeke district--Clara Helwig, North Branch.


Braun settlement--Bertha Chamberlin, Greenwood.


Alton district--Birdine Anderson, Hemlock.


Huntzicker district--Elmer Oliver, Waupun.


Christie district--Amelia Deutsch, Neillsville.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel