School: Colby High School (Class of 1952 Reunion - 1962)

Contact: Stan

Surnames: Sasse, Stettler, Bender, Jackson, Rannow, Vogler, Lumly, Schultz, Smart, Bowen, Smith, Podevels, Manecke, Kops, Schmitt, Scanlon, Loskot, Riedel, Schulz, Casanova, Hibbard, Ashbeck, Scheelk, Sazama, Leick, Treankler, Kilty, Schneider, Wisneske, Steinwand, Lyons, Schoelzel, Phillips, Erdman, Markus, Goelden, Pasholk, Bane, Serdar, Brehm, Brill, Sweet, Leonhardt, Frane, Ewert, Meinke, Kasper, Kussrow, Drews, Amacher, Stammer, Priem, Hansen, Sommer, Cendt, Eckes, Untiedt, Klessig, Hasenohrl

----Source: Colby Phonograph (Colby, Clark Co., Wis.) 09/06/1962

Class of 1952 Holds Reunion

The Colby High School class of 1952 held a 10 year reunion at the Colby Hotel Saturday evening Sept. 1, 1962, with 30 of the 36 class members attending.

The evening started with a tour of the new High School under the direction of Principal Sasse. Master of ceremonies Lawrence Stettler welcomed the guests and a family style chicken and ham dinner was served. The guests of honor were: Former Principal and Mrs. Harry Bender, Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Jackson and Mr. and Mrs. Howard Rannow. A short talk was given by each. Lawrence Stettler read a letter from Mrs. Charlotte Vogler who was unable to attend. A moment of silence was observed in memory for the former Civic Teacher Rosemary Lumly who passed away in Dec. 1961. The class history was read by Mrs. Kenneth Schultz and the class prophecy was read by Grant Smart. After a discussion, it was decided to hold the next reunion in 1972. Each class member was presented with the class flower, a white carnation. Special prizes were awarded to Geraldine Bowen Smith, married the longest, Marjorie Podevels Manecke, the largest family, LeRoy Kops, having the youngest child, Mary Ann Schmitt Scanlon, traveled the greatest distance, Harold Loskot, most recently married and Rodney Riedel, the fellow with the least hair.

The class members present included Mr. and Mrs. Don (Grace Schultz) Casanova of Appleton, Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth (Marlene Hibbard) Schulz of Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Al Ashbeck (Joyce Scheelk) of Wabeno, Mr. and Mrs. Richard (Margaret Sazama) Leick of Stratford, Mr. and Mrs. Orville (Marjorie Podevels) Manecke of Edgar, Mr. and Mrs. Merlin (Donna Treankler) Kilty of Edgar, Mrs. Sally Schneider Wisneske of Marshfield, Mr. and Mrs. H. C. (Mary Ann Schmitt) Scanlon of Wheeling, Ill., Mrs. Suzanne Steinwand Lyons of Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Ray (Emerita Schoelzel) Phillips of Blooming Prairie, Minn., Miss Pearl Erdman of Wausau, Mr. and Mrs. Harold (JoAnne Markus) Goelden of Wausau, Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth (Ann Steinwand) Pasholk of Merrill, Mr. and Mrs. Clifford (Geraldine Bowen) Smith of Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Bill (Margaret Bane) Serdar of Gurnee, Ill., Miss Muriel Brehm of Wausau, Mr. and Mrs. Allyn (Rita Brill) Sweet of Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. David (Marjorie Leonhardt) Frane of Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Norman Ewert of Verona, Mr. Norman Meinke of Unity, Mr. and Mrs. Grant Smart of Wausau, Mr. and Mrs. Rodney Riedel of Grafton, Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Stettler of Abbotsford, Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Kasper of Unity, Mr. and Mrs. Harold Loskot of Edgar, Mr. and Mrs. Dale Kussrow of Milwaukee, Mr. Edwin Drews of Colby, Mr. and Mrs. LeRoy Kops of Unity and Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd Amacher of Colby, Wis.

Class members unable to attend were Mrs. Rheta Stammer Priem of St. Petersburg, Florida, Mrs. Karen Hansen Sommer of Colby, Mrs. Beverly Cendt Eckes of Wausau, Miss Joan Untiedt of Pewaukee, Gerald Klessig of Mankato, Minn., and Kenneth Hasenohrl of California.

The committees in charge of arrangements consisted of Mrs. Kenneth Schulz, Norman Meinke, Muriel Brehm and Grant Smart.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel