School: Abbotsford H.S. Class of 1950 (Reunion - 1965)

Contact: Dinah Reinke


Surnames: Miller, Pinter, Seidel, Brill, Laabs, Leichtnam, Hainzlsperger, Grambort, Steffen, Venzke, Schmirler, Hinke, Litten, Bloom, De Jong, Ebert, Laack, Martens, Thompson, Steffen, Schaefer, Scheibe, Scheel, Shookman, Uhlig, Hoffman, Gehrke, Neitzel

------ Source: Tribune-Phonograph (Abbotsford and Colby, Clark Co., Wis.) 06/24/1965

------ Reunion of Abbotsford School Class of 1950 (19 JUN 1965)

The 1950 graduation class of the Abbotsford high school held a reunion at Christ Lutheran church, Abbotsford, Saturday evening, June 19.

Following the dinner, a grogram was conducted by toastmaster Wally Miller during which each class member was asked to give an account of his experiences of the past years since graduation.  Letters were read from those unable to attend.

Prizes were then distributed for accomplishments ranging from winning battle with some of life’s problems to a losing battle with hairlines and waistlines.

Among the prizes, Mr. and Mrs. Walter Miller won the prize for coming the greatest distance; Lawrence Pinter for the most children, five; Ella (Seidel) Brill for the most recent marriage; Bernard Laabs for being the baldest; and a prize facetiously given for the most gray hair to Ruth Leichtnam.

Following the program, group photographs were made, and the group moved to the club rooms of the city hall for a dancing party, with music provided by Emil’s Music Center.

The dining room was decorated with candlelit patio lights on pedestals, one of which was presented to each of the women of the Christ Lutheran Ladies’ Aid serving the dinner.

A feature of the dining table was a cake decorated with the class flower, the yellow rose, and inscribed with the class motto, “it matters not how long you live, but how.”

Miss Ruth Leichtnam, a member of the class, was in charge of the decorations.  Mr. and Mrs. LeRoy Hainzlsperger greeted each guest as they arrived for the evening’s program.

A unanimous declaration was given to have yet another, the third reunion in another five years.

Class officers for their senior year in high school 15 years ago were Ronald Grambort, president; Jim Steffen, vice president; James Venzke, secretary, and Andrew Schmirler, treasurer, all present.

Dr. Charles Hinke was in charge of arrangement for the reunion.

Those attending the reunion included Mrs. Ester Litten (Esther Bloom), Withee; Mr. and Mrs. Maynard De Jong, River Falls; Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Grambort, Abbotsford; Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Laabs, New Ulm, Minn.; Mr. and Mrs. Bob Ebert (Jean Laack), Wausau;

Miss Ruth Leichtnam, Schofield;, Mr. and Mrs. Norbert Martens, Unity; Mr. and Mrs. Wally Miller (Evonne Thompson), both members of the class, Milan Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Pinter, Abbotsford; Dr. and Mrs. Charles Hinke, Abbotsford;

Mr. and Mrs. Jim Steffen (Rowene Schaefer), both members of the class, Brookfield; Mr. and Mrs. Donald Scheibe, Stetsonville; Mr. and Mrs. LeRoy Hainzlsperger, (Marthel Scheel), Stevens Point; Mr. and Mrs. Edward Brill (Ella Seidel), Colby;

Mr. and Mrs. Bill Shookman of Rothschild; Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Uhlig, Abbotsford; Mr. and Mrs. James Venzke, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Tom Hoffman, Dorchester, and Mr. and Mrs. Larry Gehrke (Lois Neitzel), Unity.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel