School: Loyal H.S. Alumni Banquet (1966)

Contact: Audrey Roedl

Surnames: Bertz, Schober, Sturtz, Thomas, Kuester, Theisen

----Source: The Loyal Tribune (Loyal, Clark County, WI) 02 June 1966

Alunmi Banquet (28 May 1966)

The Twentieth Annual Meeting of the Loyal Alumni Association was held in the Loyal High School on May 28, with a banquet at 7 p.m.

Following the banquet, President Robert Bertz welcomed the members and their guests. He introduced our Master of Ceremonies, Howie Sturtz, Jr. Howie kept the audience in high spirits with his humorous jokes.

Mr. Ralph Schober, Administrator of the Joint Loyal School District, greeted the alumni and told of the progress made by the Loyal school. In addition to the regular staff of teachers for the next years there also will be a teacher for adult classes, a psychologist, a speech therapist, and a guidance director.

Mr. J. R. Thomas introduced the Honor Classes and called on one from each class to introduce the members present.

Howie Sturtz, Jr. read the Alumni News Notes, a one sentence condensation gathered from each letter sent by the Alumnus who couldn’t attend the banquet.

We were honored by two selections of music by music director, Mr. William Chambers’,top talent students. The first was Malcolm Doering with a baritone horn solo and the other solo was played by Paul Moldenhauer on the tuba. Michael Tucker accompanied each soloist on the piano. These boys has an A rating at the State Music Contest.

Mrs. Leon Kuester read the secretary’s report and George Brenner, Jr. read the treasurer’s report. They were approved as read.

Mr. J.R. Thomas read one Warner F. Barry Charitable Trust Foundation report which was composed by William A. Theisen, who was unable to be present. A motion was made, seconded and passed to approve of the $10 of the Alumni fund that were used to start this Foundation. A unanimous agreement was voiced by the alumni to instruct, secretary, Mrs. Leon Kuester to send Mr. Tom Bartz a letter of thanks for all his work on the Foundation.

A motion was made, seconded and passed to have the Trustees of the Foundation as follows:
1. The current officers of the Alumni Association.
2. The current school administrator.
3. one instructor of the school board.
4. An attorney.
5. A banker
6. An interested alumnus other than the above.

Melford Catlin reported that the Loyal Club of Milwaukee completely depleted their treasury of $125 to donate it to the Warner F. Berry Charitable Trust Foundation. This made the total of the Foundation fund $532 as of May 28, 1966.

The following officers were elected for 1967:
President- Vern Gardner; Vice President-Robert Bertz; Treasurer-Nathan Noeldner; Secretary-Mrs. Clayton Englebretson; Historian-J. R. Thomas.

The door prize, a canned ham, was won by Norman Prior of Marshfield.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel