School: NHS Class of 1945 (25 Year Reunion - 1970)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Prochazka, Imislund, Pankau, Bartell, Kroll, Neperud, Rood, Swann, Lipscy, Aumann, Beyer, Berger, Brown, Bodamer, Dahnert, Reinart, Lipke, Opelt, Meihack, Neff, Ormond, Zager, Wieting, Kunze, Diercks, Jonkel, Kissling, Schwanebeck, Hasz, Kreuger, Lukas, Yule, Neuhaus, Brager, Rosandich, Ott, Pankow, Pepper, Kapfer, Schlinsog, Short, Watenpuhl, Trewartha Prochnow, Wachholz, Wetzel, Godwin, Zipfel, Maxson, Statz, Hansen, Bartel, Lauscher, Bardeleben, Houlihan, Bender, Hemp, Dux, Farrand, Drescher, Russell, Roberts, Crothers, Silverberg, Elmer, Krutsch, Huebscher, Schmidt, Shock, Subke, Urban, Swanson, Ayers, Kutchera, Peters, Ruedy, Quien, Fossum, Counsell, Osborn, Keller, Lenz, Sayre, Jespersen, Vobora

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co, WI) 7/16/1970

NHS Class of 1945 (25 Year Reunion - 11 July 1970)

The graduating class of 1945 held a reunion last Saturday evening at the Silver Dome Supper Club, starting at 7:30 p.m. Dinner was served and a social hour followed the program.

Master of ceremonies was Richard Prochazka. Class members introduced their spouses and each gave a short synopsis of his family and occupation during the last 25 years. Clarence Imislund of Eau Claire furnished the group with a humorous program.

Graduation was May 24, 1945, in the Neillsville High School. Valedictorian was Leana (Ott) Pankau, and salutatorian was Paul R. Bartell, Jr. Class officers were: Wilmer Kroll, president; Marilyn Joyce (Neperud) Rood, treasurer; and Hilda (Swann) Lipscy, secretary.

Members attending included: Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Aumann of Loyal; Paul R. Bartell, Jr., of Wausau; Mrs. Marian (Beyer) Berger of Poughkeepsie, N.Y.; Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Joan Brown) Bodamer of Thorp; Mr. and Mrs. John (Velda Dahnert) Reinart; Mr. and Mrs. Rudolph (Marcella Lipke) Opelt; Miss Ruby Meihack, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Neff, Jr., Mr. and Mrs. Frank (Ethel Ormond) Zager, Mr. and Mrs. Donald (Rosie Wieting) Kunze and Mr. and Mrs. Donald (Hilda Swann) Lipscy, all of Neillsville.

Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Diercks of Vesper; Mr. and Mrs. George Jonkel of Huron, S. D.; Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Kissling, and Mr. and Mrs. Albert (Lois Schwanebeck) Hasz, all of Granton; Mr. and Mrs. Wilmer Kroll of Rothschild; Mr. and Mrs. Devere Krueger of Bloomington, Mn; Mr. and Mrs. Curtiss (Alice Lukas) Yule of New Berlin; Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth (Marion Neuhaus) Brager of Gilman; Mr. and Mrs. Thomas (Arlene Opelt) Rosandich of Oak Creek; Mr. and Mrs. Harry (Leana Ott) Pankow of Oshkosh; Mrs. Betty (Pepper) Kapfer of Janesville; Mr. and Mrs. Richard Prochazka of Rochester, Mn; Mr. and Mrs. William Schlinsog of Middleton; Mr. and Mrs. Roger Short and Mr. and Mrs. Harlan Watenpuhl of West Allis; Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Helen Trewartha) Prochnow of Waupaca; Mr. and Mrs. William (Violet Wachholz) Neuhaus of St. Paul, Mn; Mr. and Mrs. Leonard (Ruth Wetzel) Godwin of Big Bend; Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth (Ruth Zipfel) Maxson of Bay City, Mi., and Mr. and Mrs. Anton Statz of Wisconsin Rapids.

Faculty members attending included: Mr. and Mrs. Harold (Leona Hansen) Bartel of Wautoma and Ivan W. Lauscher of Neillsville.

Members not able to attend included: Mrs. Helen (Bardeleben) Houlihan of Sioux City, Ia; Mrs. Mae (Bender) Hemp, Melvin Dux, Mrs. Adelaide (Farrand) Drescher and Mr. and Mrs. Glenn (Willmette Russell) Roberts, all of Neillsville; Mrs. Donna (Crothers) Silverberg of Milwaukee; Richard Elmer of Sunnyvale, Ca; Robert Hemp of Ellsworth AFB, S.D. (serving in Vietnam); Mrs. Gladyce (Krutsch) Huebscher of Denver, Co; Gallus Schmidt of Santa Clemente, Ca; Robert Subke of Hollywood, Ca; Ellsworth Shock, Jr., of Grafton; and Mrs. Milda (Urban) Swanson of Des Plaines, Ill.

Deceased members are: Synclare Ayers and Lawrence Kutchera.

Letters were read from the faculty of that time, including Supt. Donald E. Peters and Mr. Lauscher, both of Neillsville: Earl Ruedy of Oostburg, and Mrs. Mary Jane (Quien) Fossum of Naples, Italy.

Letters were also read from the following class members: Mrs. Doris (Counsell) Osborn of Carbondale, Ill.; Roy Keller of Arlington, Tex; Mrs. Caroline (Lenz) Sayre of Highland Park, Ill; Mrs. Marilyn Joyce (Neperud) Rood of Indianapolis, In.; Mrs. Lorraine (Schwanebeck) Jespersen of Morristown, N. J.; and George Vobora of Medford, Ore.

It was decided to have another (date of that next reunion was missing from my copy).



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel