History: The Abbotsford Tribune (October 19, 1944)

Contact:  R. Lipprandt
Email: bob@wiclarkcountyhistory.org


----Sources: Tribune - Phonograph, Vol. 46, No 42, p 5, Wednesday, October 18, 2006

(October 19, 1941) School Plans For Big Carnival, Friday, Oct. 27 The annual carnival, sponsored by the Abbotsford public schools, will be held Friday night, Oct 27, beginning at 7:00 o’clock and continuing until 12:30 at the high school.

This years carnival will surpass anything offered in previous years, for laughter and fun galore, besides the big, juicy goose that will be given away to the holder of the lucky popularity ticket.

The various classes form the seventh and eight grades, through the 12th grade met Monday afternoon and elected their respective kings and queens, as listed below:

Seventh and eighth grade, Gayle Schraufnagel and Donald Daenicke.

Freshmen, Sally Brown and Dean Hawks.

Sophomores, Edna Leoffler and Bill Beil.

Juniors, Marion Hoeft and Maynard Gosse.

Seniors, Marion Zobrak and Robert Lundahl.

Students are selling tickets for the respective kings and queens, who will, each class hopes, be the selected ones to sit on the throne of honor on Friday night, Oct. 27.

Each carnival ticket sold for the popularity contest entities the holder to a chance to get the goose and also will admit the holder into the building.

There will be stunts, side shows, eats, games, moving pictures, boxing, fish ponds and all sorts of entertainment going on from 7:00 to 9:45. From 9:45 to 10:45 will be the big event in the assembly. Something you just cannot afford to miss. From 10:45 until 12:00 will be dancing in the assembly.

Refreshments will be served by the home economics department from &:00 until 12:00.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel