Bio: Orth, Conrad – To attend National VFW Convention (Mar 1971)


Surnames: Orth, Arends, Rainwater

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 18 Feb 1971

Herbert R. Rainwater, San Bernardino, California, Commander-in-Chief of the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States, has announced that Conrad J. Orth, 215 South Third Street, Colby (Clark Co., Wis.), a member of the VFW Nation Voice of Democracy Committee, will be among the Wisconsin delegation attending the annual VFW mid-winter conference of national officers and department commanders March 5-9, 1971 in Washington, D.C.

Prominent legislative, administration and military officials have been invited by the veterans' organization to give closed briefings to those attending the conference. In addition to appearing before the house committee on veterans' affairs to present their organization's legislative program for 1971, the VFW leaders will meet with members of their own congressional delegations in Washington.

The annual VFW congressional banquet, held to honor members of congress who served in the armed forces, will conclude the conference on March 9, and will be attended by some 2,000 people, including congressmen, supreme court justices, military leaders, and members of the president's cabinet. The national winner of the VFW "Voice of Democracy" contest will be announced at the banquet.

Rep. Leslie C. Arends (Illinois) will receive this year's VFW congressional award, and be the principal speaker. "In honoring Congressman Arends," said Rainwater, "The VFW seeks to dramatize the importance of the role of a freely elected legislature, and to recognize Arend's record of nearly three decades of dedication in the congress of the United States."



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel