School: Neillsville H. S. Reunion - Classes 1927 & 28 (1960)

Contact:  Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Skroch, Keller, Holt, Schwellenbach, Franke, Warlum, Gress, Medicke, Larsen, Meinholdt, Chapman, Bradbury, Dodte, Reineck, Krultz, Jake, Radloff, White, Berlin, Barton, O’Brien, Martens, Loberg, Cummings, Stelloh, Roder, Stacy, Sonheim, Gates, Kuenning, Sharp, Connell, O’Neil, Hansen, Cole, Hauge, Stoiber, Mertes, Ross, Alden, Brommer, Bruss, Georgas, Braatz, Treichler, Baird, Crocker, Hauser, Latenbach, Wall, McDonough, Medicke, Olson, Quilnlan, Fritz, Rollins, Lavandowska, Wegner, Reese, Dietrich, Wallace, Acheson, Naedler, Arndt, Gall, Hannah, Helwig, Pietenpol, Northup, Parrett, Raine, Reimer, Walker, Schoenherr, Selves, Zille, Wetzel, Walk, Switzenburg, Zank, Laabs, Eide

----Sources: The Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark County, WI) June 2, 1960

Classes of 1927-1928 Hold a Joint Reunion: 38 class members present

Seventy-eight members, teachers and friends of the Neillsville High School classes of 1927 and 1928 gathered at Neillsville High School Sunday evening for a reunion. Eighteen members of the class of 1928, and 20 members of the class of 1927 were present. Two post-graduates from the teacher training department also were present.

Everett Skroch, for the class of 1928, and Walter Keller, for the class of 1927, served as co-masters of ceremonies. Registrations were handled by Mrs. Fern Holt, Mrs. Othilia Schwellenbach and Mrs. Helen Franke. Guides for the tours of the old and new high schools, included Elliott Warlum, Arthur Gress, Warren Medicke and Mr. Skroch. Punch was served by Mrs. Gerelda Larsen, Mrs. Mida Warlum and Mrs. Agnes Meinholdt.

Mrs. Pearl (Chapman) Bradbury was awarded a prize for coming the longest distance, 380 miles; Mrs. Fern (Olson) Holt for most grandchildren, nine; Mr. Skroch for most children since the last reunion, five years ago, three: and Bernard Dodte was awarded a door prize.

Classes’ Colors

Decorations were carried out in green and white for class of 1927, blue and white for class of 1928, and red and white for Neillsville High School colors. Lilies-of-the-valley, the 1927 class flower, were used as table bouquets. The 1928 class flower was trailing arbutus. Candles were in class and school colors. A three-tier cake also was decorated in class colors. The dinner was served by Mrs. Ray Reineck and her staff.

Darlene Krultz, Kay Holt, Jacelyn Jake and Marilyn Radloff, dressed in Hawaiian costume, entertained with a Hawaiian dance. A corsage was presented to Mrs. Helen Franke, chairman of the planning committee, by her committee members.

As a memorial tribute to deceased members and teachers, all paused in silent prayer to honor the memory of: Glen White, Julius Berlin, Leo Barton, Violet O’Brien, Elwin Martens, Ethel (Loberg) Cummings, Frank Stelloh, John Roder, Emma Stacy, Philip Sonheim; and teachers of that period, Blanche Gates, L. G. Kuenning, Manley Sharp, Stella Connell and Ralph O’Neil.

Who was there:

Teachers present included: former Supt. William C Hansen and wife, Mrs. Sadie (Cole) Hauge, and Mrs. Nellie Mae (Stoiber) Mertes and husband.

Members of the class of 1927 attending were: Mrs. Alice (Alden) Ross, Mrs. Mabel (Alden) Brommer, Mrs. Edna (Bruss) Georgas, Mrs. Esther (Braatz) Treichler, Mrs. Esther (Baird) Crocker, Mrs. Othilia (Hauser) Schwellenbach, Rosaline Hartung, Walter Keller, Mrs. Laura (Latenbach) Wall, Mrs. Helen (McDonough) Franke, Warren Medicke, Mrs. Fern (Olson) Holt, Mrs. Mida (Quinlan) Warlum, Mrs. Emma (Quinlan) Fritz, Mrs. Vera (Rollins) Lavandowska, Mrs. Gerelda Larsen, Mrs. Agnes (Wegner) Meinholdt, Elliott Warlum, Mrs. Mae (Reese) Dietrich, and Mildred Wallace.

Members of the class of 1928 attending were: Mrs. Hazel (Acheson) Naedler, Mrs. Pearl (Chapman) Bradbury, Raymond Arndt, Arthur Gall, Wilbur Hannah, Mrs. Isabel (Helwig) Pietenpol, Mrs. Alice (Hoesly) Grap, Raymond Northup, Clifford Parrett, Lela Raine, Mrs. Eleanor (Reimer) Walker, Mrs. Rosa (Schoenherr) Swanson, Mrs. Orvilla (Selves) Zille, Everett Skroch, Mrs. Evelyn (Wetzel) Walk, Mrs. Rosalyn (Warlum) Switzenburg, Theodore Wegner and Arthur Zank.

Post-graduates present included: Mrs. Bernice (Eide) Laabs with husband and children, Dennis and Susan and Mrs. Esther (rest of the article is cut off).



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel