History: Clark Co., Wis., Naturalization Hearings (12 Jun 1940)

Contact: Kenneth Wood
Email: woodi1999@yahoo.com

----Sources: Marshfield News Herald June 12, 1940

36 Appicants Ask To Be Naturalized

Thirty six aliens expect to become citizens at the hearing to be conducted before Judge E. W. Crosby in Circuit Court here Tuesday morning, June 18 at 10 o'clock. C.R. Berg, St Paul, Minn, will conduct the examination of the alien applicants.

Included in the group are eight German aliens, eight Polish, four Swiss, fice Finlanders, three English, three Jugo-Slovanians, two Bohemians, two Scandanavians, and one Scotch-Irish alien. The names of the petitioners and their native countries are as follows:

Poland-Mary Szflarski, Levis; Frank Muzynoski, Levis; Caroline Rohland, Hixon; Stanley Pszeniczny, Reseburg; Josephine Staron, Thorp; Antonia Slachetka, Thorp; Maria Jaskot, Withee; Mary Karpinski, Resebueg.

Germany-Hans Heimke, Granton; Wilhelmia Benzmann, Colby; Martha Lentz, Hixon; Mary Louise Youmans, Abbotssford; Reinhold F. Stickert, Fremont; Rudolph Tanner, Warner; Mattie Lange, Seif; Emma Wolfe, Loyal.

Finland-Hilda Santala, Hixon; Eli Susanna Koski, Hixon; Whino Ensie Mannikko, Hoard; Selma Ruuska, Hoard; Helga Marja Laine, Hixon

Switzerland-Gottfried Gysin, Hewett; Anna Lieser Gysin, Hewett; Arnold Matti, Mentor; Werner Gempeler, Greenwood

England-Eva Evans, Loyal; Dencie Lenser, Curtiss; Mary Lenser, Curtiss

Jugo-Slovania-Katarina Popovich, Hendren; Eli Bogodonovich, Hendren; Michael Lesnjak, Hendren

Bohemia-Mary Ann Vorbora, Lynn; Maire Kunesh, Thorp

Scandanavian-Maren Anna Bragstad, Geenwood; Emelia Berg, Fremont

Scothch-Irish-Leon Sylvester Phillips, Mentor

Two other petitioners, Olga Libby Matas, Granton, and John Luniewski, Thorp, have died since filing their applications.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel