History: WWII Inductions (Jul 30, 1942)

Contact: Duane Horn

Surnames: Greenwood Gleaner 30 Jul 1942

Selective Service Quota for next month will include men now in 1-B

It was announced by Colonel John F. Mullen, State Director for Selective Service, that the induction call scheduled for the month of August will include for the first time, by order of the War Department, a proportion of registrants now in Class 1-B, or men who have previously been rejected in certain specified cases as fit for only limited military service.

In many cases, Colonel Mullen said, registrants now in Class 1-B had failed by reason, of some slight physical defect, to meet the strict physical requirements heretofore demanded by the United States Army, but were fully able to carry on in a normal, useful capacity in daily life.

These registrants will now be given an opportunity to volunteer at their respective local boards, thus assuring them a place at the head of the list of 1-B men to be called from each local board area.

To a great many of these men, the State Director asserted, this will be heartening news. State Headquarters and the local boards have long known that many of the registrants now in Class 1-B were bitterly disappointed that they were not found acceptable by the Army due to failure to meet the required physical standards. These men have been ready and anxious to take an active part in the defense of their country but have been forced to wait impatiently until plans could be completed for their induction and assignment.

Selective Service News

The following men were accepted at the Induction Station in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, on July 18, 1942.

38 of these accepted men have been on an Army furlough for the past two weeks, while the other men were inducted into the Army at Fort Sheridan, Ill. on July 19,1942.

36 of the inducted men will leave the local draft board at 10:15 A. M. on Saturday, August 1. The last two on this list will leave at the same time on August 4th.

22 Glenn H. Herbert, Riplinger

Furl. 544 Ralph Victor Frankie, Granton, R. 1

Furl. 675 Robert A. Lautenback, Granton R. 2

Furl. 681 John Troz, Lublin, R. 1

700 John R. Peterson, Withee, R. 2

Furl. 791 Marvin W. Lueck, Loyal

Furl. 827 Bennie H. Krueger, Colby

Furl. 872 Melville D. Meach, Colby

Furl. 991 LeRoy H. Pischer, Granton, R. 3

1034 Richard T. Makie, Greenwood, R. 2

1246 John D. Whittemore, Withee, R. 2

Furl. 1383 Alvin W. Krause, Curtiss

Furl. 1588 George H. Anding, Neillsville, R. 3

1646 Donald L Bertrang, Neillsville, R. 3

Furl. 1674 Henry Beglinger, Greenwood

Furl. 1842 Gregor A. Krebsbach, Loyal, R. 1

Furl. 2004 Albert H. Schulze, Jr., Owen

Furl. 2070 Henry Ryan, Loyal

Furl. 2222 Clarence Neil Oestreich, Loyal

Furl. 2296 Frank J. Champa, Jr., Willard, R. 1

Furl. 2401 Henry E. Griep, Neillsville

Furl. 2478 James R. Barager, Owen

Furl. 2501 Michael Podobnik, Jr.,Greenwood R. 5

Furl. 2603 Roland E. Barrett, Owen

Furl. 2613 Stanley E. Coffin, Neillsville

Furl. 2626 Manley C. Walker, Humbird, R. 2

2883 Delbert R. Busch, Greenwood, R. 4

Furl. 2986 Edmund H. Wernasz, Thorp

Furl. 3089 Arthur Behringer, Withee

Furl. 3366 Ezra B. Poirier, Tioga

Furl. 3454 Herman J. Grimm, Loyal

Furl. S-968 Arlo W. Larson, Pittsville, R. 1

Furl. S-1656 Paul A. Davel, Loyal

Furl. S-2293 Elmer H. Lichte, Neillsville, R. 4

Furl. 10012 Kenneth J. Neuman, Loyal

Furl. 10017 Elmer J. Loy, Chili

Furl. 10147 Chester J. Zajaczkowski, Thorp

Furl. 10158 Walter Peterson, Owen

Furl. 10256 Jos. L. Steinwand, Colby

Furl. 10280 Glenn W. Owens, Spencer, R. 2

Furl. 10286 Ward Vanderhoof, Spencer, R. 2

Furl. 10300 Wm. C. Lockbaum, Thorp, R. 3

909 Peter P. Gwiazdon, Thorp, (Trans)

Furl. 1113 Eddie Kostlevy, Greenwood, R. 3

Furl. V11768 Joseph M. Jost, Spencer R. 2



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel