School: Stanley H. S. Reunion (45th -1960)

Contact: Crystal Wendt

----Sources: Stanley Republican (Stanley, Clark County, Wis.) 29 Sept. 2005; Pages 4 - 5

On September 24, the Class of 1960 began their day by many of the attendees touring the Ace Ethanol Plant. The enormity and complexity of the plant surprised many as did having it located in Stanley. The tour guides, Norm Spooner, Alex Samardzich and several computer operators did a terrific job in explaining the process of making ethanol from the arrival of corn to the dispersal of the finished product. It was also enlightening to learn about the value added by manufacturing dry ice, selling distillers grain for cattle feed and the sale of carbon dioxide all which are by-products of ethanol production. Tour participants were amazed that the plant operates with only 35 employees, and the huge amounts of corn that are processed daily.

Following the tour participants were invited to the Stanley Area Historical Society where they enjoyed a buffet lunch and spent more than two hours visiting and enjoying the company of classmates. The museum also provided the pathway for reminiscing about life in Stanley during the years spent together in high school.

In the evening the Class of 1960 gathered at the Black Bear Supper Club, near Augusta for an evening of commemorating their graduation from Stanley High School 45 years ago. After the class was welcomed by Dave Jankoski, Class President the evenings events got started with the group being lead in singing the school song by those attendees who had been cheerleaders anytime during their four years of high school. Prior to the meal and table prayers a moment of silent remembrance for 11 deceased classmates was observed: John Berseth, Mayard Deinhammer, Cleo Johnson, Dawn Lauer, Sharon Manier Olichweir, Lester Meeker, Dick Samplawski, Rita Simon, Chuck Streit, Larry Swiontek and Diane Wingert Blaeske.

After a delicious buffet dinner special guests of the evening Mr. Clifford Nenzel, Senior Class Advisor, and his wife Betty, were acknowledged for their presence and Mr. Nenzel responded by recalling for the group several humorous events and incidents that were related to the class’s high school days.

As a first order of business the class president acknowledges the work of the 45 Reunion Committee that consisted of David Eslinger, Diane Herrick Meyer, Dennis and Mary Ann Ryba Sakach, and Donald and Mary Lou Tryboski Halterman. Next several members of the committee provided some mind jogging questions about the 1950’s and 60’s and read correspondence from a number of classmates who were unable to attend. That was followed by the recognition of milestones in the lives of the attendees. Hall of Fame awards were awarded Ed Kyle for the male with the most hair, Dave Olson for having moved to most times, Norman Johnson for the grandpa with the most grandchildren, Ron Bemmann for having the youngest partner, Rose Mary Stragret Pearson for having been married the longest, Alvina Hera Depa the grandma with the most grandchildren, Sharon Berseth for traveling the furthest to attend, Lynn McCaffery Zais the woman with the shortest hair, Collen Baron Nowobielski for the oldest spouse, and Alvina Hera Depa for being married the most times.

Next each classmate in attendance provided an update on their life moments with many reporting that since that last reunion they had retired and are now happy volunteers or have taken some form of part time employment. In the final order of business a 50th Class Reunion Committee was established and volunteers were Bonnie Miland Burzinski, Carole Henkins Licht, Eileen Duetusch Juno, and Collen Baron Nowobielski, Mary Ann Ryba Sakach and Dave Jankoski will assist them. Before closing Class President Jankoski thanked those who shared the evening with their classmates and asked those present to encourage other classmates to attend the 50th years Reunion in 2010. In closing and throughout the evening Jankoski interspersed humorous readings which dwelled on the process of growing older and the dilemmas of life faced by senior members of our society.

All in attendance agreed that they shared a great time together and look forward to the next reunion. Following the program a class picture was taken and thanks to a digital camera, a printer and the work of Diane Herrick Meyer classmates left with a picture of the reunion attendees in hand.

The Stanley High School Class of 1960 held its 45th Class Reunion on September 24. Pictured front row from left to right are: Class Advisor Clifford Nenzel, Mary Ann Ryba Sakach, Alvina Hera Depa, Carol Schock, Sharon Berseth Stromme, Rose Marie Stangret Pearson, Ronald Bemmann, Ed Kyle. Middle row from the left: Ronald Ziemba, Diane Herrick Meyer, David Jankoski, Donald Zais, David Olson, Gordon Sakach. Top row from the left: Edward Mathison, Norman Johnson, Lyn McCaffery Zais, Sharon Thuecks, Shirley Zais Swim, Eileen Duetsch Juno, Donald Halterman, and Carole Henkins Licht.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel