News: Clark Co. - Historical Society (21 Dec 1972)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Vorland, Cattanach, Smith, Lauscher, Elmer, Vater, Liebzeit, Tragsdorf, Garbush, Vajgrt, Yndogliato, Meihack, Kauffman, Hills

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co, WI) 12/21/1972

Clark County Historical Society (21 December 1972)

The year’s activities of the Clark County Historical Society were summarized at its annual meeting held in the Clark Electric auditorium in Greenwood recently.

Funds are needed to continue the project of moving the log house to the Clark County fairgrounds. The foundation has been completed and was used for displays during the 1972 fair.

Through the efforts of many individuals and organizations the Colby depot museum project has progresses satisfactorily. A debt of $4,300 plus interest remains to be paid. The depot building was donated to the society by the Soo Line Railroad Company and has been moved onto the new foundation on the society’s property. The area for the parking lot has been prepared for fill where work will continue during the winter. Most of the former location of the depot has been cleaned up according to the agreement.

Plans are being made to dedicate the museum during the Colby Cheese days, the third week of July, 1973. Mrs. Pearl Vorland explained that the Colby centennial also would be celebrated during Colby Cheese days and asked for information on Colby history and pictures to use.

The bake sale committee in the central part of the county did not out-do the Neillsville committee in raising money but a satisfactory amount was earned. Mrs. Pearl Vorland is chairman of the bake sale committee for the northeastern part of the county and Mrs. Nina Cattanach is chairman for the Owen-Withee area.

Plans were discussed for a fund-raising dinner to be held in January at Granton.

A number of articles were donated to the society to be used for display purposes. A display case has been donated by the Sniteman Pharmacy.

Members elected to a three-year term on the board of directors are: Chester Smith, Loyal; Mrs. Ivan Lauscher, Neillsville; Ernest Elmer, Greenwood; and Arno Vater, Withee. Harry Liebzeit was elected to complete the unexpired term of William Tragsdorf. Officers reelected are Florence Garbush, president; Marie Vajgrt, vice president; Ruby Yndogliato, secretary; Ruby Meihack, treasurer.

The Oakland Homemakers Hobo band entertained with a variety of melodies and vocal renditions, and the audience joined in singing Christmas carols. The Oakland Homemakers have membership in the society.

Everett Kauffman, Ernest Elmer and Harold Hills were appointed to audit the books before the next meeting. There will be no meetings during January and February.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel