School: Colby H.S. Class of 1939 (30 Year Reunion – 1969)


Surnames: Schmidt, Roth, Laube, Katte, Frome, Luepke Orth, Martin, Becker, Johnson, Marsh, Schmirler, Van Dreel, Mueller, Steinwand, Will, Gabriel, Olson, Firnstahl, Guetschow, Lueloff, Kirchoefer, Riplinger, Neville, O'Brien, Eder, Maas, Sazama, Paschke, Tesmer, Lulloff

---------Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 17 Jul 1969

Members of the Class of 1929 Colby High School (Clark Co., Wis.) met on Saturday evening at the Colby Hotel. After renewing old acquaintances and reminiscing of high school days, a dinner was served to 17 members and their husbands and wives. Foster Will of Owen, Wis., as master of ceremonies, read letters from former teachers and classmates who were unable to be present. Following this each member of the class introduced their wife or husband and gave a short resume of their lives. Prizes were awarded to the one coming the greatest distance, Mrs. E.J. Schmidt (Norma Roth) of Columbia, South Carolina; the one with the most grandchildren, Byron Olson, Colby; and several door prizes.

Those attending included Mr. and Mrs. Roland Roth (Leona Laube), Abbotsford; Mr. and Mrs. Jack Katte (Helen Frome), Sheboygan; Dr. and Mrs. E.J. Schmidt (Norma Roth), Columbia, S.C.; Mr. and Mrs. Vern Luepke (Violetta Orth), Aledo, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Martin (Regina Becker), Marshfield; Mr. and Mrs. Reuben Johnson (Viola Marsh), Wausau; Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Schmirler (Rosalyn Van Dreel), Edgar; Mr. and Mrs. Walter Mueller (Mary Steinwand), Holcombe; Mr. and Mrs. Foster Will, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Alois Gabriel, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Byron Olson, Colby; Lawrence Firnstahl, Loyal; Mr. and Mrs. Lester Guetschow, Stevens Point; Mr. and Mrs. Orland Lueloff, Sharon; Miss Esther Kirchoefer, Normal, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Frank Riplinger, Minneapolis, Minn.; Mr. and Mrs. Byrne Neville, Elm Grove.

Those who were unable to attend were Mrs. James O'Brien (Genevieve Eder), Van Nuys, Calif.; Harold Maas, Holland, Mich.; Miss Leona Sazama, Milwaukee; and Mrs. Carl Paschke (Lenore Tesmer), Winneconne, Wis.

Two members are deceased, Mrs. Art Tesmer (Lorraine Riplinger) and Mrs. Woodrow Tesmer (Margaret Lulloff).

The class agreed upon another reunion in five years. The committee in charge of this reunion were Foster Will, Mrs. Walter Mueller, Alois Gabriel and Mrs. Roland Roth.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel