School: Granton H.S. Class of 1949 (25 Yr. Reunion -1974)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Nowack, Hurtis, Trimberger, Bartsch, Naedler, Nanstad, Garbisch, Heimke, Larson, Paun, Schultz, Stiemke, Taylor, Sternitzky, Warnecke, Erickson, Foemmel, Helm, McHone, Winstead, Tyler, Nelson, Crothers, Ruchaber, Warlum, Eisemann, Chitwood, Peterson, Guk, Schlinsog

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 8/01/1974

Granton High School Class of 1949 (Reunion - 27 July 1974)

The 25-year reunion of the Granton High School Class of 1949 was held Saturday evening at Bali Hai Supper Club. Chairman of the event was Darlene Nowack Hurtis of Marathon. Eugene Trimberger, Neillsville, served as master of ceremonies.

Class members and their spouses present were as follows: Mr. and Mrs. Leland Bartsch, Plover; Mrs. Irene Naedler Nanstad, Edgerton; Erlin Garbisch, Slinger; Mr. and Mrs. Harland Heimke, Hubbell, Mi; Mr. and Mrs. Frank (Virginia Larson) Paun (both class members), Rockford, Il.; Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert (Darlene Nowack) Hurtis, Marathon; Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Schultz, Omro; Mr. and Mrs. Don (Clarice Stiemke) Taylor, South Salem, N.Y.; Mrs. Lorraine Sternitzky Nowak, Waukesha; Delores Warnecke, North Lake, Il.; Mr. and Mrs. Wayne Sternitzky, Overland Park, Ka.; Mr. and Mrs. Wallace Erickson, and Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Trimberger, Neillsville; Mr. and Mrs. Forest Foemmel, and Mr. and Mrs. Walter Helm, Chili; Mrs. Emily McHone Winstead, and Mr. and Mrs. Robert Tyler, Granton.

Teachers in attendance were Mrs. Marcia Nelson Crothers, Granton, and Mrs. Olivia Ruchaber, and Mrs. Elliot Warlum, Neillsville. Elliot Warlum also attended.

Letters were read from Principal Carl Eisemann, Galesburg, Il., teachers Jack Chitwood, Slinger, and Mrs. Myrtle Peterson, Wittenberg, and a classmate, Jeanette Guk Schlinsog, Middleton.

Prizes were awarded to the following: Wallace Erickson, largest waistline; Irene Naedler Nanstad, Most Grandchildren; Walter Helm, youngest child; Darleen Nowack Hurtis, most children; Clarice Stiemke Taylor, traveling the furthest distance; Lorraine Sternitzky Nowack, changing the least; Wayne Sternitzky, least hair on head and most hair on chest.

An evening of dancing followed the dinner and program.

The class will meet for a 30th reunion anniversary in five years. Emily Winstead and Wallace Erickson will be co-chairmen of the event.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel