School: Abbotsford H.S. Class of 1947 (20th Reunion – 1967)


Surnames: Kramer, Nacker, Beilke, Beil, Bunkelman, Cathcart, Ortell, Eggert, Gokey, Gosse, Hall, Hingiss, Piehl, Hinke, Venzke, Hackel, Karsten, Van Slett, Kleinstick, Bloom, Koerner, Grambort, Leichtnam, Sossaman, Lindberg, Fran, Michlig, Nikolay, Billeb, Neitzel, Reckner, Paul, Peterson, Kadon, Preller, Schraufnagel, Sheets, Stettler, Voge, Fasse, Wilson, Vande Steele, Zobrak, Bielkowsky, Bialkowsky, Fredrickson, Shaw, Schnelle, Loeffler, Janquart, Wunsch

----Source: Tribune/Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 12 Oct 1967

The class of 1947 of the Abbotsford High School held their first reunion in 20 years, Saturday, Oct. 7, 1967.

The group gathered at the old high school gymnasium and were given a tour of their old "halls of learning", by Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Kramer. Mrs. Kramer was the class advisor and guest of honor at the reunion dinner, which was held in the Coral Room of the Colby Hotel.

Twenty-six of the classmates returned to renew old acquaintances. They were Mr. and Mrs. Louis Nacker (Bernice Beilke), Colby, Mr. and Mrs. William Beil, Abbotsford, Mr. and Mrs. Chester Bunkelman, Milan, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Cathcart, St. Paul, Minn., Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Ortell (Ramona Eggert), Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. Vane Gokey, Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Leon Gosse, Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Hall (Margaret Hingiss), Janesville, Mr. and Mrs. Don Piehl (Donna Hinke), Arlington Heights, Ill., Mr. and Mrs. Benno Venzke (Cecelia Hackel), Athens, Mr. and Mrs. LaVern Karsten, Rockford, Ill., Mr. and Mrs. Orville Van Slett (Betty Kleinstick), Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. Carol Bloom (Betty Jean Koerner), West Bend, Mrs. Edwin Grambort (Margaret Leichtnam), Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Darrel Sossaman (Ruby Lindberg), Abbotsford, Mr. and Mrs. Donald Frane (Mary Ann Michlig), Colby, Mr. and Mrs. George Nikolay, Spencer, Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Billeb (Geraldine Neitzel), Muskego, Mr. and Mrs. Leon Reckner (Joyce Paul), Stratford, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Peterson, Rockford, Minn., Mr. and Mrs. John Kadon (Ann Preller), Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. Allen Schraufnagel, Elroy, Mrs. Neil Sheets (Olive Stettler), Marshfield, Mr. and Mrs. Lavern Venzke, Wis. Dells, Mr. and Mrs. Don Voge, Abbotsford, Mr. and Mrs. Arno Fasse (Udelle Wilson), Milan, Mr. and Mrs. Cletus Vande Steele (Loretta Zobrak), Menomonee Falls.

Letters were read from the following were unable to attend: Miss Rose Bielkowsky, Phoenix, Ariz., Arthur Bialkowsky, Wausau, Mrs. Janet Fredrickson Shaw, Madison, Mrs. Norman Schnelle (Edna Loeffler), Wausau, Mrs. Laurence Janquart (Rosella Wunsch), Wauwatosa.

Prizes were given for the following achievements: earliest reply, George Nikolay; youngest child, Chester Bunkelman; person traveling the fartherst, Donna Hinke Piehl; man with the least heair, George Nikolay; most children, Chester Bunkelman with 13 and runner-up with 12; longest married, Geraldine Neitzel Belleb, 20 years.

Mr. and Mrs. Kramer were given a token remembrance by the group, and each class member was given a red rose, the class flower. The class colors of navy blue and gold, and the motto "With the ropes of today, we will ring the bells of tomorrow," were utilized in the decorations. The group voted to have another class reunion in five years, and Mrs. Nacker and Geroge Nikolay were selected to be in charge of it.

This year's reunion was taken care of by Arthur Peterson and Donald Voge, with the assistance of their spouses.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel