News: Clark Co. - College Notes (11 Jul 2012)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Rosquist, Hagglund, Opelt, Struensee, Hoefs, Seefeld, Wilgus, Karrmann, Zellmer, Beighley, Anderson, Ganther, Steinbach, Jolivette, Kind, Krug, Ortner, Harasimowicz, Attoe, Haunschild, Rogers, Schneider, Schofield, Slenczka, Spiegel, Statz, Werner, Pickett, Tarcsay, Wegner, Apolinario, Bixby, Ewoldt, Heil, Karl, Naughton, Medenwaldt, Esselman, Buchholz, Woik, Horacek, Suda, Davis, Johnston, Kaiser, Schweiger, Conner, Gross, Thoma, Zank, Abramowicz, Haas, Lawcewicz, Lewan, Mendalski, Gordon, Schultz, Schlief, Trampush, Mellenberger, Borslien, Gokey, Seefeld, Huber, Schmidt, Streckert

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 7/11/2012

College Notes (11 July 2012)

The following area students have been named to the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Dean’s List for the 2012 spring semester.

Merrillan - Jenna Rosquist, psychology; Neillsville - Jacob Hagglund, marketing; Kelly Opelt, nursing; Lacey Struensee, Spanish; Owen - Nicole Hoefs, English

The University of Wisconsin-Platteville has awarded a scholarship for the 2012-13 year to returning student Michelle Seefeld of Unity. She was awarded the James A. Wilgus Family, Karrmann Family, Luther and Irma Zellmer Memorial, UW-Platteville student Ambassador, Valerie (Beighley) Anderson, Bheru-Lilawati Sukhwal and Phi Kappa Phi Ullsvik Scholarship, totaling $3,600.

Chippewa Valley Technical College has placed the following area students on its President’s List.

Chili - Kimberly K. Ganther; Granton - David A. Steinbach; Greenwood - Dylan J. Jolivette, Shana L. Kind, Cain A. Krug, Phillip J. Ortner; Humbird - Jonathan D. Harasimowicz; Neillsville - Jordan D. Attoe, Ashley A. Haunschild, Jamie L. Rogers, Andrew J. Schneider, Clover J. Schofield, Glenn C. Slenczka, Dylan J. Spiegel, Christopher C. Statz, Jennifer J. Werner.

The following area students have received academic honors for the 2012 spring semester from the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay.

Neillsville - Courtney Pickett, high honors (Grade-point average (GPA) 3.99 to 3.75); Nicole Tarcsay, high honors; Brianna Wegner, honors; (GPA 3.74 to 3.50)

The following area students have been named to the spring 2012 Dean’s List of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Neillsville - Michael Apolinario, biology major: biomedical science concentration; Stephanie Attoe, middle childhood through early adolescence education; Arielle Bixby, communication studies; organizational and professional communication emphasis; Leah Ewoldt, psychology; Anthony Heil, exercise and sport science; exercise science - fitness track; Dessa Karl, undeclared major - CLS; Sean Naughton, biology: biomedical science concentration.

The following students from the area are recipients of the University of Wisconsin-Stout Chancellor’s Award for the spring 2012 semester. They achieved a grade-point average (GPA) of 3.5 or above.

Abbotsford - Madison Medenwaldt, majoring in human development t and family studies; Chili - Timothy Esselman, construction; Colby - Travis Buchholz, business administration; Elise Woik, psychology; Dorchester - Samantha Horacek, early childhood education; Greenwood - Kaitlyn Suda, psychology; Humbird - Amanda Davis, vocational rehabilitation; Loyal - Allison Johnston, business administration; Michael Kaiser, engineering technology; Carmen Schweiger, art education; Neillsville - Rachel Conner, psychology; Roman Gross, business administration; Collin Naughton, hotel, restaurant and tourism; Katie Thoma, art; Shelley Zank, pre-early childhood education; Thorp - Nicholas Abramowicz, dietetics, health, wellness and fitness; Tiffany Haas, early childhood education; Scott Lawcewicz, manufacturing engineering; Larissa Lewan, pre-early childhood education; Kelly Mendalski, psychology; Withee - Bri Anne Gordon, psychology; Raina Schultz, vocational rehabilitation.

Mara Schlief-Trampush of Greenwood graduated May 20 from Marquette University, Milwaukee, with a bachelor of arts in social welfare and justice.

University of Wisconsin-Platteville graduate student Heidi M. Mellenberger of Abbotsford earned a master’s degree in criminal justice.

Tanya Borslien of Withee is employed through the Cooperative Education Program at the University of Wisconsin-Stout. Borslien, majoring in graphic communications management, is working as a sales and marketing assistant with The Schiele Group in Elk Grove, IL.

Participating students develop employment contacts, interpersonal skills and pursue career goals in addition to applying learned educational theory to the work setting. Through the program, students leave campus for a period of up to one year to work nationally or internationally to further develop their professional skills as they prepare to full-time careers.

Katherine Gokey of Owen was named to the Chancellor’s List for the spring 2012 semester at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville. She achieved this honor by earning a 4.0 GPA during the semester. Attainment of the chancellor’s list represents the highest academic achievement at UW-Platteville.

Michelle Seefeld of Unity was named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2012 semester at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.

Morgan Huber, daughter of Phil and Karen Huber of Colby, was named with highest honors (GPA of 3.90 to 4.0) to the spring semester Dean’s List at Northwestern College in St. Paul, MN. She is pursuing a degree in elementary education and Spanish education.

The following area students were named to the spring semester Dean’s list (GPA 3.65 or higher) at Northwestern College in St. Paul, MN.

Frank Streckert, son of Mark and Cindy Streckert of Unity. He is pursuing a degree in English.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel