News: Clark Co. College Notes (7 Nov 2012)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Goettl, Peterson, Naughton, Toburen, Hagglund, Jones, Gaede, Edblom, Fisher, Bauer, Bloome, Brost, Matthias, Purdy, German, Breisch, Kaiser, Holtby, Lawcewicz, King, Ward, Thoma, Decker

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 11/7/2012

College Notes (7 November 2012)

The following area students were among the 2012 summer graduates of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire: Owen - Terri Goettl, MSE, Education and Human Sciences, special education; Nicole Peterson, BSHCA, Business, health ca re administration.

Sean Naughton, Neillsville, was among the August 2012 graduates of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. He graduated with honors, receiving a Bachelor of Science degree with biology major; biomedical science concentration.

Jordan Toburen, of Greenwood, a sophomore elementary education major, has been named a resident assistant (RA) at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater for the 2012-13 academic year. Toburen joins 121 others named to this important student leadership position. Students selected for the RA position excel both academically and socially. RAs help on-campus residents with everything from homework to social living while juggling their own regular school schedule and extracurricular activities. To hold this position, applicants must have a strong academic record and complete several interviews with their peers and faculty members.

Jake Hagglund of Merrillan was selected as one of 70 to serve as campus ambassador at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire for the 2012-2013 year. Campus ambassadors are volunteer students, from freshmen to seniors, who serve under the auspices of the Chancellor’s, Admissions and Alumni Association offices. Ambassadors represent the university at a variety of campus functions and often are the first people that visitors meet on campus. To be selected as an official campus ambassador is a special honor.

The following area students were placed on the President’s List (grade point average 3.75 or above) of Northcentral Technical College, Wausau, for outstanding academic achievement for the spring 2012 semester:

Colby - Hillary Jones, Lisa Gaede; Dorchester - Lynsie Edblom, Allen Fisher; Loyal - Lindsey Bauer; Unity - Jeffery Bloome, Melissa Brost; Withee - Michelle Matthias, Kevin Purdy

The following area students received scholarships from the University of Wisconsin-Stout Foundation, at a reception on campus Sept. 13:

Patricia German, Owen, received the Jean Breisch Scholarship. She is majoring in vocational rehabilitation.

Andrew Kaiser, Colby, received the Fulton and Edna Holtby Endowed Scholarship. He is majoring in manufacturing engineering.

Scott Lawcewicz, Thorp, received the Thomas G. King Endowed Scholarship and Bob Ward Photography Scholarship. He is majoring in manufacturing engineering.

Katie Thoma, Neillsville, received the Edward L. and Dorothy D. Decker Endowed Scholarship. She is majoring in art.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel