News: Clark County's Main Street Program (18 Nov 2005)

Contact: Janet



Surnames: Suder, Zien, Nyberg, Boon, Ashbeck, Jakel, Henke


-----Source: Marshfield News Herald (Marshfield, Wood Co., Wis.); Friday, November 18, 2005


Clark County wants Main Street program countywide
By Matt Ollwerther - Marshfield News-Herald

NEILLSVILLE - Clark County is working to become the a pilot location for a countywide Main Street program.

A bill by state Rep. Scott Suder, R-Abbotsford, and state Sen. Dave Zien, R-Chippewa Falls, would allow an entire county to be a Main Street program, said Sheila Nyberg, director of the Clark County Economic Development Corp. Current law restricts Main Street programs to cities and villages.

The same effort has been undertaken in a few other states, Nyberg said. Main Street programs promote revitalization, usually in downtown areas.

"The timing is perfect for us to want to be involved," Nyberg said.

County Supervisor Steve Amacher said all municipalities could benefit from the program.
There is no guarantee the county would be selected for the pilot program, and the matter is still in the discussion phases, Nyberg said.

Because Clark County is a made up by a number of small cities and villages, interest has been high in organizing the Main Street efforts from one central location, she said.

The County Board voted 25-2 Tuesday night in support of the pending bill.

It also passed the 2006 budget at the meeting, which included an additional $20,000 for the economic development corporation. A motion to transfer it to a contingency fund failed.

Clark County United, comprised of all mayors and village presidents in the county, unanimously supports the passage of the bill, according to the resolution.

About a half-dozen communities in the county had previously discussed becoming Main Street programs, Nyberg said.

The four prongs of organization, promotion, design and economic restructuring is proven to work across the country, she said.

"You can't just run a bunch of promotions without the right type of business groupings," Nyberg said.

Supervisors Duane Boon and Rodger Ashbeck voted against the resolution. Supervisors Carl Jakel and Gary Henke were absent.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel